Spotlights & Hot News & Latest Events

Frequently Asked Questions
Thinking of majoring in Chemistry?
What kind of job could I get with a Chemistry degree?
What modules do I take?
How to apply?

Learn more at this FAQ link.
Based on QS University Rankings by subject, NUS Chemistry retained the position as 1st in Asia and 7th internationally for 3 years in a row.
NUS chemists made C-C coupling based 2D polymer
Professor Kian Ping Loh and PhD student Liu Wei in the Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore, applied an ingenious strategy based on endogenous polymerization, carried out without catalyst, solvent or initiator, to make 2-D polymer based on C-C coupling reactions.
They discovered that pre-ordering well-designed, flat monomers into a single crystal structure can lead to a 2D crystalline aromatic polymer upon thermal annealing. The achieved polymeric sheets are parallel and can be readily exfoliated into ...
Toward metallic molecular wires!
Graphene nanoribbons (GNRs) with a width < 10 nm have promising applications in the future nano-electronics. While semi-conducting GNRs can be applied as active components in field effect transistors, the metallic GNRs can be used as conducting wires. So far, the synthesis of GNRs with potential metallic properties is still not successful. In a recent publication in Link, A/P Wu Jishan’s group reported the challenging ...
President's Science Award 2016
Congratulations to A/P Liu Xiaogang for receiving the Link for his outstanding research in developing rare-earth-doped nanocrystals that could be used as luminous tags for tracking cancer cells and deciphering various biologically relevant phenomena. Link
Extended Bis(benzothia)-quinodimethanes and Their Dications: From Singlet Diradicaloids to Isoelectronic Structures of Long Acenes
In a recent article published in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2016, 55, 9316-9320 (hot paper), (Link), Dr. Chi and her co-workers synthesized a series of extended bis(benzothia)-quinodimethanes and their dications as stable species. The neutral compounds mainly have a quinoidal structure in the ground state but show increased diradical character with extension of the central quinodimethane unit. More importantly, ...
Congratulations to Associate Professor Chen Wei for being appointed as Dean’s Chairs in the Faculty of Science.

NUS and Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry will be jointly organizing the SETAC AP Singapore Conference to be held during September 16-19, 2016 at University Town, NUS. More information is available at:

Congratulations to Prof Lee Hian Kee and Adjunct Prof Jackie Ying for being conferred the SNAS Fellowship (2016).
Read more.

We welcome Class of ’62 Visiting Professor Rodney Scott Ruoff.

Congratulations to Associate Professor Christian A. Nijhuis for winning the Young Researcher Award 2016.
Read more.