Head of Department's Message


The Department of Chemistry is the leading chemistry research institution in Singapore, employing some 50 academic faculty members and 20 teaching staff. We were established in 1929 as part of the Raffles College. Today, we offer both undergraduate and graduate programs leading to BSc, BSc(Hons), MSc and PhD degrees in Chemistry. Our faculty members are involved in teaching and research activities of all major areas of chemistry namely, Analytical, Inorganic, Organic and Physical chemistry in the department. We also offer a range of specialised programmes leading to Minor degrees including Nanoscience and Forensic Science.

We have more than 1000 undergraduate students and around 350 postgraduate students enrolled in our programmes. We offer 3-year BSc program or 4-year BSc(Hons) undergraduate degree programmes. Many of these students also actively participate in internship programs at local industries or in research institutes during the semester or during vacation periods. The department also offer exchange or visit programs with many top-ranked overseas universities in US, Europe, Australia and China. We also offer graduate studies leading to MSc by research and coursework and PhD degrees in various chemistry disciplines. Strategic research focuses  in Department include Catalysis, Materials Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry and Environmental Chemistry. Our research programs are supported by state-of-the-art facilities such as NMR, X-ray diffractometer, Electron Microscopy, Liquid and Gas Chromatography, Thermal Analyses housed and professionally managed by the Chemical, Molecular and Materials Analysis Centre (CMMAC).

In the past few years, our faculty members have been awarded numerous research awards both at the University and National Level. Notably, Prof Loh Kian Ping and Prof Liu Xiaogang were awarded the prestigious President's Science and Technology Awards in 2014 and 2016, respectively. The department publishes more than 300 papers per year in high impact internationally-refereed journals and secure approximately S$10 million in research grants annually.

Professor Wong Ming Wah, Richard