Congratulations to Assoc. Prof HUANG Dejian for being awarded the Department Outstanding Chemist Award 2018.
Congratulations to Asst Prof WU Jie for being awarded the Department Young Chemist Award 2018.
Congratulations to Professor LIU Xiaogang for being appointed as Provost’s Chair in the Faculty of Science. Provost’s Chair appointees have achieved international recognition in their fields and superior performance to other faculty members at the rank of Professor.
Congratulations to Assoc. Prof Christian Albertus NIJHUIS for being appointed as Dean’s Chair in the Faculty of Science. Dean’s Chair appointees have achieved recognition in their fields, displayed superior performance to other faculty members at the rank of Associate Professor, and have very good prospects for rapid promotion to Professor.
Shawn Ng Voon Hwee (FYP student of Assoc. Prof ZHAO Yu) is the winner in the annual university-wide Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Prize (OURP) for AY2017/18. His project title is “Practical Kinetic Resolution of Biaryl Amino Alcohols via Atroposelective N-alkylation Catalysed by a Commercial Chiral Amine”
International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) 2018
Congratulations to Singapore Team who won two Gold Medals and two Silver Medals in the 50th IChO held in Bratislava, Slovakia and Prague, Czech Republic from 19 to 29 July 2018. The team was in the 6th ranking among 76 participating countries and Mr. Marvin Dragon Choo attained 5th position among 300 delegates.
International award for our lipid biochemist!
Congratulations to Associate Professor CHNG Shu Sin for being awarded the 2019 Walter Shaw Young Investigator Award for Lipid Research by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB). The winner was nominated by colleagues and other leaders in his field for making outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids as a young investigator. Assoc. Prof CHNG will deliver an award lecture at the ASBMB annual meeting in April 2019. For more information, see ...
Congratulations Class 2018 and Welcome to the NUS Chemistry Alumni Family!
Thursday, 12 July 2018 evening marked a significant milestone for over 260 chemistry graduates as they begin a new chapter in their lives after completing their studies at ChemNUS. The Commencement event this year was also marked by another milestone as the first graduates for the new Masters programme, M.Sc. in Chemistry for Energy and Environment, were inaugurated. Mr Cao Xujun shared his feelings ...
Li Dan obtained her Ph.D in Applied Biological Sciences from Ghent University, Belgium before embarking on her postdoctoral fellowship, under the prestigious FWO fellowship scheme, at the same institution. She brings with her many years of research experience on food viruses, particular norovirus and will be working on foodborne pathogens related research in the Food Science and Technology Programme.

After obtaining his B.Sc. degree from the State University of Moldova, Liviu pursued M.Sc. and Ph.D. studies ...
The 13th Singapore National Crystal Growing Challenge
The finale of the Challenge was held at NUS Chemistry on Sat, 26 May 2018. Total of 109 teams from 47 schools participated in this challenge. The students presented ammonium cobalt (II) sulphate hexahydrate crystals for the Junior category, sodium zinc sulphate tetrahydrate crystals for the Senior category, and they were challenged to grow a “Crystal Tree” in Open category.
Charge-hopping without activation barriers across molecular junctions
Assoc Prof Christian NIJHUIS and his research group from the Department of Chemistry, NUS reported in Nature Nanotechnology a new way to reduce power consumption of molecular electronic devices. For charges to flow across a molecule, usually an energy barrier needs to be overcome which requires heat. The so-called Marcus theory describes the science behind it and explains how the applied temperature increases or decreases current flow across molecules. Here we show for the first time that it is possible to inject charge into a molecule without ...